Chapel Floor

~~~

~~~

I awoke in a strange place

beneath a strange light

surrounded by dozens of strange men

lying on the chapel floor…

~

They were scruffy and bewildered

tossed turned & turned again were they

all sleeping like smiling babies with

wings folded, arrows hidden in rumpled blankets…

~

I awoke right in the middle of this

pseudo Michael Angelo on the floor

I didn’t mean for this to happen

my life wasn’t supposed to come to this…

~

I was supposed to be wandering around in

the ghost town called Love, not

waking up in a Goonsville painting

then someone hit me in the head with a hammer…

~

I fell down

   dreaming again…

~

(Copyright Clyde Collins 2011)

~~~

One thought on “Chapel Floor

Leave a Reply

