Pulaski at The Mission

~~~

~~~

With a bad knee

Pulaski holed-up

at the mission

as the full-time janitor

~

When I came thru with

my bedroll

he advised me where

I should not lay it down outside

~

Not because of

hooligans

but

because of cops

~

So I stayed

at

the

mission

~

Pulaski trained me

to be

the mission’s next full-time janitor

but it never happened

~

After he left to

camp on the river

I ended-up a janitor

only on the weekends

~

I blog now

on public-library computers

on week days except Monday when

the library is closed

~

I remember Pulaski

bringing me coffee in the early morning when

on the chapel floor

I was barely awake

~

He

didn’t

have to

do that

~

But I’m

sure

glad

 he did.

~

(Copyright Clyde Collins 2012)

~~~

One thought on “Pulaski at The Mission

Leave a Reply

