Isom’s Luck

~~~

~~~

I don’t know how it came to be

the koo koo bird & the bumble bee

Isom Dart & Diana Longtree

my eternal slavery

~

I don’t know why it is so

cold in the desert & hot in the snow

they get it on

I’m so slow

~

Jealousy

the brick in my chest

in my belly

comes to rest

~

A soft & gooey lump of clay

wiseless prideless love

an eager pollywog today

tomorrow a timid dove 

~

Sheriff Dart got the drop on her

pulled her in, locked her up

made a pot of coffee

& poured her a cup

~

He got a “thank you” that

I will never understand

he is one hell of a guy

& I am just a man

~

A dead man

that’s it

when you’re dead you’re just a ghost

   & Sheriff Isom Dart was a gracious host …

~

(Copyright Clyde Collins 2012)

~~~

Leave a Reply

