About 8 mile around the bend…

~~~

~~~

In the bush n’ the cacti, I kicked off my shoes

with a book in my lap, I started to snooze

n’ before I knew it I’d made me a lizard friend

the little runt amused me about 8 mile around the bend

~

This little critter’s whole body wiggled when he ran

from bush to bush and his slithering tail was oh so grand

then he come up next to me & look me in the eye

then he dart away & do it again on the sly

~

Then he’d disappear for a while, I’d read some

then off in the distance, well, here he come

skid to a halt next to me, dig around n’ up n’ tilt his head

there he was, lookin’ me in the eye like a thoroughbred

~

After my affair with Mr. Lizard so charming

I fell in love with Freddie The Fly so disarming

he was buzzing all around just wantin’ to die

but I just couldn’t kill ’em, I don’t know why

~

I had him under my thumb, but I let him go

then I caught him in my hand & opened it up real slow

for a moment only his head was peeking out

his two big eyes and his cute little pout

~

Then I climbed up the truck & layed down on the roof

I was fallin’ in love with everything but I had no proof

I tried to feel bitter & alone but didn’t get very far

‘cuz as day turned to night I fell for sweet Suzie Star

~

Moods will work you up and down and all around

before you know it you’re insane and unsound

they’ll yank you this way & yank you that way

before you know it, the White Coats are dragging you away

~

God’s creatures are all creeping up slowly on me

before long I’ll be slow-dancing with Flunky The Flee

I just hope that if I step on Rattle The Snake

he doesn’t mind if I also bake him a birthday cake…

~~~

poems from an out-of-print book

A Love Song To The American Lizard

by Rawclyde!

(Copyright Clyde Collins 1999)

~~~

~~~

2 thoughts on “About 8 mile around the bend…

Leave a Reply

