Adrift

~

Cloud Shadow 25

~

I’ve been lost in

these canyons

now

for a century or two

~

Just floating a-

round with

not

much to do

~

I’ve read all

my books

about one hundred

times each

~

My spelling has improved

but I’m

a numbskull now

when it comes to speech

~

My haunted old boat

has become

brittle

as over-cooked toast

~

About forty feet a-

bove the ground

it can

barely still coast

~

It has bumped into

the walls of

these canyons a-

bout ten million times

~

Once more and it will

become nothing but

scattered

butterfly rhymes

~

I have not grown wise

over the ages

just

plain numb

~

If you were to ask me

my name

I would

just sit and look dumb

~

These scrappy

desperado

canyons of nothing

but rocks and sand

~

Have turned me into

the desert-bleached

bones of a

silent time-weary man

~

A living

fossil

am

I

~

Adrift

be-

neath

Deep Desert sky…

~

Deep Desert Blues V

http://deepdesertbluesv.yolasite.com

by Rawclyde

!

 

Leave a Reply

